Leanne Simpson Music



Release Date: 30/09/2016

1. Constellation
2. Road Salt
3. The Oldest Tree In The World
4. Caribou Ghosts & Untold Stories
5. Song for Dealers
6. How To Steal A Canoe
7. This Accident of Being Lost
8. Laughing Heart
9. Under Your Always Light
10. I am Graffiti


f(l)ight is a new album of story-songs from acclaimed Michi Saagiig Nishnaabeg artist Leanne Betasamosake Simpson. Effortlessly interweaving Simpson’s complex poetics and multi-layered stories of the land, spirit, and body with lush acoustic and electronic arrangements, f(l)ight claims a unique space in contemporary Indigenous music and performance.

For Simpson, the making of f(l)ight was both a deeply personal and highly collaborative process of collective creation. She enlisted the talents of award-winning Indigenous and non-Indigenous musicians including: Jonas Bonnetta (Evening Hymns), James Bunton (Ohbijou, Lights Fires, Forest City Lovers), Juno-nominated Cree/Metis cellist Cris Derksen, Nick Ferrio (The Burning Hell), Ojibwe/Cree singer-songwriter Tara Williamson, and Anishinaabe singer-songwriter Ansley Simpson to write, co-create, record, and produce the album over an intensive two-week recording session, that included field recordings of Anishinaabe land-based practices like a sugar bush, wild rice, and the Crowe River.  

“For me this is a record of tiny stories of light, of fight, and of Indigenous freedom,” says Simpson. “I like to fall into the intimate moments of Indigenous life and amplify the richness, the warmth and the intelligence of our communities and the worlds we live in. I want my people to come out of this album feeling better than they went in.”

f(l)ight will be released September 30, 2016 on RPM Records. The album is available for pre-order now via rpmrecords.bandcamp.com.


All lyrics written by Leanne Betasamosake Simpson, except for Laughing Heart which is a poem by Charles Bukowski.

The music for Constellation and This Accident of Being Lost was written by Tara Williamson. Road Salt and The Oldest Tree in the World were written by Nick Ferrio. Caribou Ghosts & Untold Stories, Song for Dealers and I am Graffiti were written by Jonas Bonnetta. These Two and Laughing Heart were written by Ansley Simpson. How To Steal a Canoe was written by Cris Derksen and Under Your Always Light was written by Jonas Bonnetta and James Bunton.

Nick Ferrio, guitars, dobro, steel guitar, vocals
Leanne Betasamosake Simpson, vocals, percussion
Cris Derksen, cello, vocals
Ansley Simpson, guitar, vocals
Tara Williamson, piano, vocals
Jonas Bonnetta, synths, piano, percussion, vocals
James Bunton, drums, piano, bass, percussion, synths
Rebecca MacLeod viola, violin
Josh Daignault, bass
field recordings of The Gut, the sugar bush and winnowing wild rice 

Produced by Jonas Bonnetta with James Bunton
Recorded and mixed by James Bunton at Swimfan69 & The Glen Gordon, additional recordings by Jonas Bonnetta at Port William Sound
Mastered by Jeff Elliot (Fedge) 
Cover Art by sab meynert
Website Design: Joi Arcand

Lyrics will be published in This Accident of Being Lost, House of Anansi Press, April, 2017. 

Written & recorded in Michi Saagiig Nishnaabeg territory.

Miigwech to the Aboriginal Arts Program at the Ontario Arts Council.